Fun with Electronics and Code

Just another WordPress.com site

First Race with new track and timer complete!!!

The Netduino based Track Timer has been a fun project and last weekend we finally got to see the new 8 lane track and timer in action. 50 racers came to race their cars in an attempt to win a speed or design trophy.  The timer performed great and the only real issue I had come when the person operating the start gate closed it before the race was finished. It would reset the timer and the software would not record any times (even though i send the times as each racer finishes). This resulted in us having to rerun 2 of the heats. I will look at ways to change the code so that the Grand Prix Race Manager software will still complete a race if the start gate is closed. We are hoping to bring it out again before the Grand Prix next year as we all had a blast (especially the kids) and we want to do it again. I have added a video and some pictures below

As for the project details (Bill of Materials,  process diagrams, code, and build pictures), I will be working over the next week or two to get the project page updated with all the details on this project. If you have any questions or would like additional details on a portion of the build.

Thanks for the support during this build. I have some ideas for my next project but I am taking suggestions, so if you have an idea leave a comment or send me an e-mail. If I like the idea then i’ll build it.

Demo of track operation

Pictures of setup (and a shameless plug for my kids cars).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


FYI – sorry about the picture quality, My SLR died and we have not fixed / replaced it yet so these were taken with my cellphone.

Leave a Reply

